March 26, 2009

  • THE LIFE AND TIMES...

    I thought I'd update everyone on recent happenings in my life.  Nothing too exciting.  Most of it is still revolving around the new car.  :P

    • I spent and enjoyable evening at a fellow officer's house.  Several of us have been hanging out almost every Tuesday night since Hurricane Ike.  This officer recently started joining us and last night was the first time it was at his place.  Looks like his place is the new hangout.  He lives in the country, has no houses close by (and those closest belong to his family), and you can have a bonfire in the backyard.  It was great.  We were drinking until about 4:30 in the morning.
    • I ordered that P90X exercise program.  Several serious fitness guys in my department have tried it and said it really is a good workout.  I'm ready to get back in shape.  I regret not keeping it up after the police academy.  I decided to take a little break after that and five years later I'm still on that break.  It's time to stop thinking about getting fit again and time to do something about it.  I ordered the program and am waiting for it to come in.  I bout my chin-up bar today.
    • I ordered the cold air intake (CAI) for my car.  It is pretty awesome and not the one I was originally looking at.  This one is also carbon fiber, but it is about $60-$100  less expensive than the other one and it should add about 18.5 RWHP and 16.5 RWTQ.  I also have an oil catch can on the way, which should help keep the inside of my motor cleaner.  And to top it all off, and keep the engine compartment nice and pretty, I have braided hoses and black fittings for both.
    • It's really amusing how much attention the new Challenger gets.  So far it is a fairly rare car on the streets.  I have been been given the thumbs up at many a traffic light.  A lot of people approach me when I'm getting out and ask questions about it.  I bought it to have fun in, not for attention.  But it is really interesting how different this car is from any I've owned before (all two, three if you include the practice wife's Hyundai Accent). 
    • I watched the Quantum of Solace yesterday on DVD.  I think Daniel Craig is the best Bond so far.  He really comes across as believable as an operator for MI6.  I think they are really portraying the character a lot better now, having ditched the cheesy gadgets.

Comments (12)

  • Practice wife? HAHAHAHAHA! That's great!

    I am so with you on Daniel Craig. It didn't really hit me until I caught Casino Royale again on Showtime. He's an excellent Bond, and I think they are really getting into the heart of who he should have been the entire time, rather than some schmuck in a suit with perfect hair.

  • @AudioSnob - Yeah, I think it hit me watching Quantum of Solace.  You're looking at a Bond with scars from being shot and stabbed.  And throughout both movies he's got cuts and scratches from fights he's been in.  You never really saw that in the old Bond movies.

  • I totally feel you on Daniel Craig being the best Bond.
    Whoever created the new Bond flicks is refleshing things for the better. Just like Christopher Nolan did for Batman.

  • Man, I miss our big bonfires. Seems like we haven't done that around here in a long time... I'll have to do something about that next month. :)   I always loved the cheesy gadgets, and I can't totally get into the new bond...probably cause he reminds me of one of my brothers....and you can't have a crush on a guy that reminds you of your brother! I always loved Sean Connery, anyway. I liked Quantum of Solace though. Solace is one of my favorite words. :P

  • @cjdean - Well, you can always seek solace in the fact that you like the movie's title.  :P

  • LOL Practice Wife, perfect. I don't drive the Corvette for just that reason, if I'm dressed like I live in a barn, or don't have on makeup, or am late for something, that's always when someone wants to stop and chat about cars. <G> I'm so paranoid though it took a while to realize people were admiring the car and not something about to fall off the car. Glad you're enjoying it. Life is short, might as well have a good time.
    I like Daniel Craig the best too, but the story lines are a little more muddled....too much editing maybe.

  • @Lucyjane69 - I wasn't sure you still had the vette.  Is that still the '72?  How is it doing?

  • RYC still have it, though I haven't driven it in so long the registration and inspection stickers are way out. Gotta take care of that soon since I might drive it when the weather is better. It got some damage from one of the roll up doors during the last hurricane, but that's one of the advantages of having a brother with a body shop, it can be fixed. :) One day I would like to rebuild the '65 since that's the one I really like...but that would be a long term project, and I'm just not really up for another project right now....plus the expense, as you know.

  • Hey, Steve...It's been awhile......

    I was gonna buy that movie "Quantum" the other day but I thought I'll pass.  I thought the same thing too.  I thing he's the best bond of all time.

    I also bought a house in the country.  About an hour away from Chicago and it's really great.  There's a lot of land and trees surrounding the house.  One big problem is that, there's a lot of raking involved.  Yeah, trying to get used to that still. 

    What happened to the nurse?

    Have a great Spring!!!

  • You'll be fine w/o the nurse...

    laters babe

  • Let me know about the P90X. I've seen the commercials and been intrigued myself. Glad you are having fun being single. I showed your car to some of my co-workers and we all shared a moment of jealousy.

  • @azrael_476 - I think you should get one!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment